Language selection

Search

Human rights and responsible business conduct

Human rights abuse means an adverse impact on an internationally recognized human right — including any of the human rights that are referred to in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights — arising from a Canadian company’s operations abroad.

Responsible business conduct (RBC) is about companies doing business responsibly in an economic, social and environmentally sustainable manner. It is conduct demonstrating respect for human rights at home and abroad, consistent with applicable laws and internationally recognized standards. RBC emphasizes:

For more information is available at Responsible Business Conduct Abroad.

The CORE promotes the United Nations (UN) Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises. The Guiding Principles and the Guidelines apply to Canada and to Canadian companies operating abroad including in the garment, mining, and oil and gas sectors. The UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights are a set of guidelines for States and companies to prevent, address and remedy human rights abuses arising from business operations.

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises are recommendations to multinational enterprises operating in or from countries that have committed to the guidelines. They provide non-binding principles and standards for responsible business conduct around the world, consistent with applicable laws and internationally recognised standards. The Guidelines are the only multilaterally agreed and comprehensive code of responsible business conduct that governments have committed to promoting. 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Droits de la personne et la conduite responsable des entreprises

On entend par violation des droits de la personne toute atteinte à un droit de la personne internationalement reconnu – y compris l’un des droits de la personne compris dans la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme, le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques et le Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels – découlant des activités d’une entreprise canadienne à l’étranger.

La conduite responsable des entreprises (CRE) concerne les entreprises qui font des affaires de façon responsable et durable sur les plans économique, social et environnemental. Il s’agit d’une conduite qui démontre le respect des droits de la personne au pays et à l’étranger, conformément aux lois applicables et aux normes reconnues à l’échelle internationale. La CRE met de l’avant l’importance pour les entreprises :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page : https://www.international.gc.ca/trade-agreements-accords-commerciaux/topics-domaines/other-autre/csr-rse.aspx?lang=fra.

L’OCRE fait la promotion des Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme et des Principes directeurs à l’intention des entreprises multinationales de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE). Ces Principes directeurs s’appliquent au Canada et aux entreprises canadiennes exerçant des activités à l’étranger, notamment dans les secteurs du vêtement, des mines et du pétrole et du gaz. Les Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme sont un ensemble de lignes directrices à l’intention des États et des entreprises pour prévenir, traiter et réparer les violations des droits de l’homme résultant des activités commerciales.

Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales sont des recommandations à l’intention des entreprises multinationales qui exercent leurs activités dans les pays qui se sont engagés à appliquer ces principes ou à partir de ces pays. Le document énonce des principes et des normes non contraignants pour une conduite responsable des affaires dans le monde entier, en conformité avec les lois applicables et les normes reconnues à l’échelle internationale. Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE sont le seul code de conduite responsable des entreprises complet et adopté au niveau multilatéral que les gouvernements se sont engagés à promouvoir.

Date de modification: