Language selection

Search

Listening tour: What we heard

PDF Version (556 KB)

Overview

The Canadian Ombudsperson for Responsible Enterprise (CORE) is the first of its kind. Our office is uniquely positioned to review alleged human rights abuses, allow communities to access remedy, and ultimately achieve greater respect for human rights in the context of Canadian company operations abroad in the oil and gas, mining, and garment sectors.

As the starting point for our work, we launched a consultation process in May 2019 to hear from our public, private, and plural stakeholders regarding our mandate. We listened carefully to their expectations, concerns, input, and advice to learn from past experience and how to most effectively implement our mandate.

Key Stakeholder Groups

Public
Includes governments, government institutions, and government bodies both domestic and international, including Indigenous governments

Private
Includes Canadian companies in the garment, mining and oil and gas sectors, their subsidiaries, contractors and subcontractors, and other supply chain partners.

Plural
Includes individuals, communities, groups, and civil society organizations who represent them, including Indigenous communities and organizations.

Everyone we spoke with agreed on the necessity of respecting human rights and that following international norms and standards, such as the UN Guiding Principles for Business and Human Rights and the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises will guide us to achieving this goal. The distinctions in what we heard from different stakeholders centred on how to go about reaching that goal.

The listening tour is foundational to our office, providing direction that is shaping our priorities and informing our approach. Although stakeholder consultations are ongoing, this report reflects what we heard to date. It outlines:

Summary: What we heard

Shared perspectives

Differing perspectives

The listening tour: Our consultation process

In May 2019, the Canadian Ombudsperson for Responsible Enterprise, Sheri Meyerhoffer, initiated in-depth discussions and relationship building activities with a diverse range of stakeholders. The objective was to have open conversations and listen to stakeholders’ perspectives about:

The listening tour involved conversations with over 200 domestic and international stakeholders across Canada and the world, including public stakeholders such as government institutions and officials, private stakeholders such as industry representatives, and plural stakeholders such as communities and civil society organizations, including Indigenous organizations. This includes four organizations and experts focused on gender equality and women’s issues, across various stakeholder categories.

Who we spoke to

Public - Agencies & Independent Bodies - 25
Public - Elected Officials - 8
Public - Government Domestic - 41
Public - Intergovernmental & Foreign Bodies - 24

Plural - Civil Society Organizations - 34
Plural - Indigenous Experts (Domestic) – 4
Plural – Indigenous Experts (International) - 2
Plural - Multi-Stakeholder Groups - 5
Plural - Media - 1
Plural - Universities and Academics - 27

Private - Companies - 26
Private - Industry Associations - 18

Total: 233

What we heard

Overall, there was agreement that respect for human rights as part of responsible business conduct is important, that Canadian companies can and must improve practices to identify, address, and remedy human rights abuses linked to their operations. We received a lot of positive feedback about CORE’s role in promoting international standards such as the United Nations Guiding Principles (UNGP) on Business and Human Rights, OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and international treaties for the protection of human rights.

Our mandate

We received a lot of helpful feedback about our mandate. All three stakeholder groups were unsure about what CORE is mandated to do, and how we are different from other bodies, such as the National Contact Point
Our plural stakeholders raised concern that CORE does not currently have the powers it needs to effectively fulfill its mandate. In particular, they were concerned about CORE’s lack of powers to compel documents and witnesses during a review, and the lack of a legislative basis for CORE’s mandate.

Indigenous governments and organizations wanted to know more about how CORE will interpret its mandate to protect the rights of Indigenous Peoples. 

By contrast, our private stakeholders were concerned about further expansion of CORE’s current scope of authority, and that powers to compel information might cause harm to companies. Specifically, there was concern that sensitive information obtained by CORE will not be protected from disclosure and might be used later in other proceedings. Private stakeholders also felt there are too many organizations focused on business and human rights and responsible business conduct overall.

Issues and challenges: Shared perspectives

All three stakeholder groups recognized that human rights abuses are complex in terms of their causes and consequences, and identified different challenges to us:

A major theme that emerged was keeping individuals and communities safe and preventing harm. Organizations across all stakeholder groups agreed on the importance of this issue both in general as well as in the context of CORE’s role in reviewing alleged human rights abuses.

Discussions with our private stakeholders focused on identifying specific challenges in community harm-reduction efforts and seeking CORE’s advice on addressing them.

Our plural and public stakeholders emphasized that CORE should focus on the needs, protections, and well-being of vulnerable and underserved communities in fulfilling our mandate.

Another major theme raised by all three stakeholder groups was making sure that CORE’s review mechanism will be fair and will not favour one party over another. Different stakeholder groups articulated different concerns that were not incompatible. Our plural stakeholders were focused on facilitating access to remedy and addressing power imbalances through CORE’s review mechanism. They emphasized the use of technology in achieving this objective. Our private stakeholders were focused on the handling and disclosure of confidential information during the review process and on potential adverse impacts of the review process on companies or organizations.

The way forward

We received a very clear message from all of our stakeholders that the way in which we implement our mandate is central to our effectiveness. Our stakeholders expressed different perspectives about how CORE can most effectively improve respect for human rights as part of responsible business conduct.

Organizations across all three stakeholder groups advised us to focus on relationships and network-building. Everyone agreed that we should adopt a collaborative approach to our work.

Our plural stakeholders further emphasized the importance of leveraging networks as a way to reach vulnerable populations, with Indigenous governments and organizations emphasizing the importance of engaging both the community and engaging Indigenous experts in CORE reviews. 

Our plural and public stakeholders also advised us to adopt a community-focused approach to protect the human rights of underserved populations, as well as to focus on the needs and well-being of vulnerable populations both in the context of a review and over the long-term. 

Perspectives across stakeholder groups diverged on two strategies: voluntary approaches and dialogue.

Our private stakeholders preferred voluntary, industry-led approaches to encourage respect for human rights. They preferred dialogue and mediation as a means for resolving human rights issues.

By contrast, our plural and some of our public stakeholders were vocal that voluntary approaches are not working, and that stronger mechanisms are needed to encourage respect for human rights and responsible business conduct. Options offered included legislation, financial measures, mandatory disclosures, and due diligence requirements. Many plural stakeholders have lost confidence in dialogue and mediation as a way to achieve justice for those impacted by Canadian companies abroad; nevertheless, mediation was acknowledged as part of CORE’s mandate.

What we learned

Here are the key messages from our listening tour:

  1. Relationships with stakeholders are fundamental to our work.
  2. Increased clarity our mandate is needed.
  3. Focus on mitigating risks and harms for all parties involved in a review is needed.
  4. Fairness is extremely important, but it means different things to different stakeholders.
  5. Stakeholders share some perspectives, but there are also important differences, in particular, concerning the role of voluntary approaches and the need for more stringent measures to encourage respect for human rights.
  6. General support for CORE exists, with disagreement about CORE’s likely effectiveness given the current lack of powers to compel.
  7. Agreement and willingness exists to improve respect for human rights as part of responsible business conduct.
  8. The way we deliver on our mandate is key to generating broader support and trust for CORE.

We are incorporating these insights into our organization through:

Our values, which guide the way we operate. 

Our priorities, which identify key areas of focus in our work.

What we’ve been working on

  • The development of our compliance and dispute resolution mechanism is based on research, best practices and consultations with stakeholders.
  • To promote accessibility, fairness and transparency, we are producing information and guidance in multiple formats.
  • To address a range of potential risks and harms that could emerge in the context of our work, we are developing guidance and procedures on issues such as retaliation, the protection of confidential and sensitive information, and balancing confidentiality and transparency.
  • To integrate human rights into COVID-19 measures, we released a policy statement with further guidance materials to follow.
  • As part of efforts to achieve transformative action, we are researching and analyzing current Canadian policies and international developments, such as our analysis of a proposed legally binding mechanism in the European Union.
  • As part of our commitment to fairness, addressing power imbalances, and achieving transformative change, we released a policy statement on racial equity

Next steps

COVID-19 has created certain challenges, but we have and will continue to consult with our stakeholders through available means, and have adjusted our timelines for the launch of our compliance and dispute resolution mechanism.

Over the coming months we will continue to engage our stakeholders as we work towards the launch of our compliance and dispute resolution mechanism. Stay tuned for further updates about our work, such as our Annual Report, Strategic Plan, and Operating Procedures.

We want to close by thanking all of the individuals and organizations that took the time to share their perspectives and insights with us during our listening tour. We invite you to reach out to us (CORE/OCRE@international.gc.ca) to provide feedback, or if you have questions or suggestions on our next steps.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport de la tournée des consultations : ce que nous avons entendu

Version PDF (557 ko)

Aperçu

Le bureau de l’ombudsman canadien de la responsabilité des entreprises (OCRE) est le premier du genre. Notre bureau est particulièrement bien placé pour examiner les allégations d’atteintes aux droits de la personne, offrir des remèdes aux populations touchées et, à terme, inciter les entreprises canadiennes qui œuvrent à l’étranger dans les secteurs du pétrole, du gaz, des mines et du vêtement à mieux respecter les droits de la personne.

En mai 2019, comme point de départ de nos activités, nous avons amorcé un processus de consultation afin d’entendre ce que nos parties prenantes publics, privés et multisectoriels avaient à dire au sujet de notre mandat. Nous avons écouté attentivement leurs attentes, leurs préoccupations, leurs commentaires et leurs conseils afin d’apprendre de nos expériences passées et trouver le moyen le plus efficace de mettre en œuvre notre mandat.

Catégories des parties prenantes

Publics

Cette catégorie comprend les gouvernements, les institutions et organismes gouvernementaux nationaux et internationaux, y compris les gouvernements autochtones.

Privés

Comprend les entreprises canadiennes qui exercent des activités dans les secteurs du vêtement, des mines, du pétrole et du gaz, leurs filiales, entrepreneurs et sous-traitants, ainsi que leurs autres partenaires dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Multisectoriels

Comprend les particuliers, les communautés, les groupes et les organisations de la société civile qui les représentent, y compris les communautés et organisations autochtones.

Tous les parties prenantes consultés reconnaissent la nécessité de respecter les droits de la personne et les normes internationales, notamment les Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme de l’ONU et les principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales, qui nous guideront dans la réalisation de cet objectif. Si les parties prenantes s’entendent sur le but à atteindre, ils divergent toutefois davantage sur la manière d’y arriver.

La tournée des consultations est fondamentale pour nous, car elle nous fournit des orientations qui façonnent nos priorités et éclairent notre approche. Bien que les consultations suivent leur cours, le présent rapport fait état de ce que nous avons entendu jusqu’à présent, en soulignant :

Ce que nous avons entendu – Résumé

Points de vue partagés

Points de vue divergents

Tournée des consultations : notre processus de consultation

En mai 2019, l’ombudsman canadienne de la responsabilité des entreprises, Sheri Meyerhoffer, a amorcé une discussion approfondie et des activités de renforcement des relations avec une foule des parties prenantes. L’objectif était d’entretenir une conversation ouverte et d’entendre leurs points de vue sur :

Dans le cadre de cette tournée des consultations, nous nous sommes entretenus avec plus de 200 parties prenantes nationaux et internationaux établis au Canada et ailleurs monde, notamment des parties prenantes publics (institutions gouvernementales, fonctionnaires, etc.), des parties prenantes privés (représentants des différentes industries) et des parties prenantes multisectoriels (communautés, organisations de la société civile, organisations autochtones, etc.). On comptait du nombre quatre organisations et experts spécialisés dans les enjeux des femmes et de l’égalité des genres, œuvrant à la fois dans diverses catégories des parties prenantes.

Les parties prenantes que nous avons consultés

Publics – Organismes et organes indépendants – 25
Publics – Représentants élus – 8
Publics – Administrations publiques (au pays) – 41
Publics – Organisations intergouvernementales et étrangères – 24

Multisectoriels – Organisations de la société civile – 34
Multisectoriels – Experts autochtones (au pays) – 4
Multisectoriels – Experts autochtones (ailleurs dans le monde) – 2
Multisectoriels – Groupes multisectoriels – 5
Multisectoriels – Média – 1
Multisectoriels – Milieu universitaire – 27

Privés – Entreprises – 26
Privés – Associations industrielles – 18

Total : 233

Ce que nous avons entendu

Dans l’ensemble, les participants ont reconnu l’importance de respecter les droits de la personne dans le cadre de la conduite responsable des entreprises, et convenu que les entreprises canadiennes peuvent – et doivent – améliorer leurs pratiques pour constater, traiter et réparer les atteintes aux droits de la personne commises dans le cadre leurs activités. Nous avons reçu de nombreux commentaires positifs sur le rôle de l’OCRE dans la promotion de normes internationales tels que les Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme de l’ONU, les principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales et les traités internationaux sur les droits de la personne.

Notre mandat

Nous avons reçu de nombreux commentaires utiles sur notre mandat. Les parties prenantes des trois catégories n’étaient pas certains de bien comprendre ni le mandat de l’OCRE, ni ce qui distingue le bureau d’autres organes comme le point de contact national.

Les parties prenantes multisectoriels ont dit craindre qu’à l’heure actuelle, l’OCRE ne dispose pas des pouvoirs dont il a besoin pour remplir efficacement son mandat. Ils sont particulièrement préoccupés par l’absence de pouvoirs suffisants pour exiger des documents et obliger à témoigner lors d’un examen, ainsi que par l’absence d’un cadre législatif dans le mandat de l’OCRE.

Les gouvernements et les organisations autochtones souhaitaient en savoir plus sur la façon dont l’OCRE interprétera son mandat pour protéger les droits des peuples autochtones.

Les parties prenantes privés craignent, quant à eux, que l’OCRE élargisse éventuellement ses pouvoirs et que le pouvoir d’exiger des renseignements puisse porter préjudice aux entreprises. Ils s’inquiètent notamment que l’information sensible obtenue par l’OCRE ne soit pas protégée contre la divulgation et puisse être utilisée ultérieurement dans d’autres procédures. Les parties prenantes privés estiment par ailleurs qu’il existe déjà trop d’organisations centrées sur les droits de la personne et sur la conduite responsable des entreprises en général.

Enjeux et défis : points de vue partagés

Les parties prenantes des trois catégories ont reconnu que les atteintes aux droits de la personne présentent des causes et des conséquences complexes, et ont dégagé un certain nombre de défis à relever :

Parmi les thèmes majeurs qui se sont dégagés des discussions, nous avons noté la sécurité des personnes et des communautés, et la prévention des méfaits. Les organisations de toutes les catégories ont reconnu l’importance de cette question de manière générale, mais aussi dans le contexte des examens de l’OCRE sur des allégations d’atteintes aux droits de la personne.

Les discussions avec les parties prenantes privés ont surtout servi à faire ressortir les défis propres aux efforts de réduction des méfaits dans les communautés et les conseils de l’OCRE pour les relever.

De leur côté, les parties prenantes publics et multisectoriels ont souligné que le bureau de l’OCRE, dans l’accomplissement de son mandat, devrait se concentrer sur les besoins, la protection et le bien-être des communautés vulnérables.

Autre thème majeur soulevé par les parties prenantes de toutes les catégories : la nécessité de s’assurer que le mécanisme d’examen est équitable et ne favorise pas une partie au détriment d’une autre. Les différents parties prenantes ont exprimé des préoccupations qui, bien que différentes, n’étaient pas incompatibles. Les parties prenantes multisectoriels étaient davantage tournés sur les moyens de rendre les remèdes plus accessibles et sur la résolution des déséquilibres de pouvoir dans le mécanisme d’examen de l’OCRE. Ils ont insisté sur les remèdes à la technologie pour atteindre cet objectif. Enfin, les parties prenantes privés ont surtout parlé du traitement et de la divulgation des renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre du processus d’examen, en faisant remarquer les effets négatifs que le processus d’examen pourrait avoir sur les entreprises ou les organisations.

La voie à suivre

Nos parties prenantes nous ont envoyé un message on ne peut plus clair : notre efficacité dépend grandement de la manière dont nous appliquons notre mandat. Ils ont exprimé différents points de vue sur les moyens que l’OCRE peut prendre pour améliorer le plus efficacement le respect des droits de la personne dans le cadre de la conduite responsable des entreprises.

Les organisations des trois catégories nous ont conseillé de miser sur l’établissement de relations et de réseaux. Tous ont convenu que nous devrions adopter une approche collaborative.

Nos parties prenantes multisectoriels ont en outre souligné l’importance de s’appuyer sur des réseaux pour atteindre les populations vulnérables. Parmi eux, les gouvernements et les organisations autochtones ont insisté sur l’importance d’impliquer la communauté et les experts autochtones dans le processus d’examen de l’OCRE.

De plus, les parties prenantes multisectoriels comme les parties prenantes publics nous ont conseillé d’une part d’adopter une approche axée sur la communauté pour protéger les droits des populations mal desservies, et d’autre part de nous concentrer sur les besoins et le mieux-être des populations vulnérables, autant dans le contexte des examens qu’à plus long terme.

D’une catégorie à l’autre, les points de vue entendus divergent sur deux fronts : les approches volontaires et le dialogue.

Pour favoriser le respect des droits de la personne, les parties prenantes privés penchent pour des approches volontaires menées par l’industrie. Ils estiment également que le dialogue et la médiation sont des moyens de choix pour résoudre les enjeux liés aux droits de la personne.

Par contre, les parties prenantes multisectoriels et certains parties prenantes publics ont clairement indiqué que, selon eux, les approches volontaires ne fonctionnent pas et des mécanismes plus rigoureux sont nécessaires pour encourager le respect des droits de la personne et la conduite responsable des entreprises. Les avenues proposées comprennent un cadre législatif, des mesures financières, une divulgation obligatoire et des exigences de diligence raisonnable. De nombreux parties prenantes multisectoriels ne voient plus le dialogue et la médiation comme des moyens d’obtenir justice pour les victimes de la mauvaise conduite des entreprises canadiennes à l’étranger. Ils reconnaissent toutefois que la médiation a sa place dans le mandat de l’OCRE.

Leçons apprises

Notre tournée des consultations nous a permis de dégager un certain nombre de messages clés :

  1. Les relations avec les parties prenantes sont fondamentales pour notre travail.
  2. Notre mandat doit être défini plus clairement.
  3. Nous devons concentrer nos activités sur l’atténuation des risques et des préjudices pour toutes les parties impliquées dans un examen.
  4. Le traitement équitable est d’une importance capitale, mais il n’a pas la même signification pour tous les parties prenantes.
  5. Les parties prenantes s’accordent sur certains aspects, mais divergent sur d’autres, notamment en ce qui a trait au rôle des approches volontaires et à la nécessité d’adopter des mesures plus strictes pour encourager le respect des droits de la personne.
  6. Les parties prenantes soutiennent le bureau de l’OCRE de manière générale, mais ne s’entendent pas sur son efficacité éventuelle étant donné l’insuffisance actuelle des pouvoirs de contrainte.
  7. Tous reconnaissent l’importance d’améliorer le respect des droits de la personne dans le cadre d’une conduite responsable des entreprises, et souhaitent faire un pas dans cette direction.
  8. La manière dont nous remplirons notre mandat constitue un facteur déterminant qui nous aidera à élargir le soutien et la confiance à notre endroit.

Ces enseignements, nous les intégrerons dans :

Nos valeurs, qui guident notre mode de fonctionnement. Ces valeurs sont :

Nos priorités, c’est-à-dire nos principaux domaines d’intervention. Ces priorités sont :

Le travail accompli jusqu’ici

  • Nous développons notre mécanisme de conformité et de résolution des différends en nous appuyant sur la recherche, les pratiques exemplaires et les consultations auprès des parties prenantes.
  • Afin de promouvoir l’accessibilité, l’équité et la transparence, nous produisons des documents d’information et d’orientation dans différents formats.
  • Pour répondre à l’éventail de risques et de préjudices qui pourraient survenir dans le cadre de nos activités, nous élaborons des orientations et des procédures sur une foule d’enjeux, notamment le risque de représailles, la protection des renseignements confidentiels et sensibles, et la nécessité de trouver l’équilibre entre confidentialité et transparence.
  • Afin d’intégrer les droits de la personne aux mesures liées à la COVID-19, nous avons publié un énoncé de politique ainsi que d’autres documents d’orientation.
  • Dans le cadre de nos efforts pour parvenir à une action transformatrice, nous étudions et analysons les politiques canadiennes actuelles et l’évolution de la situation à l’échelle internationale. Dans la foulée, nous avons notamment publié une analyse portant sur un mécanisme juridiquement contraignant proposé par l’Union européenne.
  • Dans le cadre de notre engagement à améliorer l’équité, à lutter contre les déséquilibres de pouvoir et à réaliser des changements transformateurs, nous avons publié un énoncé de politique sur l’égalité raciale

Et la suite?

En dépit des obstacles engendrés par la COVID-19, nous avons pu continuer à consulter nos parties prenantes par les moyens disponibles. Nous poursuivons le processus, mais nous avons ajusté les échéanciers liés au lancement du mécanisme de conformité et de règlement des différends.

Au cours des prochains mois, les consultations se poursuivront jusqu’au lancement du mécanisme. Gardez l’œil ouvert : nous communiquerons les derniers développements de notre travail, notamment dans notre rapport annuel, notre plan stratégique et nos procédures opérationnelles.

Nous aimerions conclure en remerciant toutes les personnes et les organisations qui ont pris le temps de partager leurs points de vue et leurs idées avec nous au cours de notre tournée des consultations. Nous vous invitons à nous contacter (CORE/OCRE@international.gc.ca) pour nous faire part de vos commentaires, de vos questions ou de vos suggestions sur les prochaines étapes.

Date de modification: