Language selection

Search

European Union commitment to introduce legally binding corporate human rights and environmental due diligence: Implications for Canada – Policy Brief

May 13, 2020

Purpose

Part of the Canadian Ombudsperson for Responsible Enterprise’s (CORE) approach to promoting the United Nations Guiding Principles (UNGP) on Business and Human Rights is to regularly inform our public, private, and plural stakeholders of global developments in implementation and their implications for Canada. This includes analyzing relevant gender dimensions that can be integrated into human rights due diligence (HRDD) practices, which allows us to fulfill our commitment to integrate gender-based analysis plus (GBA+) into all governmental policies.

This brief provides a summary of a study by the European Commission on due diligence requirements through the supply chain (1) and key points regarding the relevance of its findings to Canada.

Background

The CORE’s four-part mandate “promote, advise, review, and recommend” was created in the context of Canada’s endorsement of the UNGPs, which is among other things, a blueprint to assist Member States in meeting their legislative obligations regarding ratified international human rights and labour treaties (2). Within the UNGPs framework “protect, respect, and remedy”, Canada has taken the following steps in implementation:

On April 29, 2020, the European Union (EU) Commissioner for Justice committed to introducing legislation on mandatory human rights and environmental due diligence obligations for EU Companies in early 2021. The statement was made during a webinar organized by the EU Responsible Business Conduct Working GroupFootnote 2 to discuss the findings of a comprehensive study on due diligence requirements throughout the supply chain completed for the European Commission.

This study highlights the increasing uptake and implementation of the UNGPs among governments in the EU, particularly the legislative requirement for businesses to ensure HRDD are integrated in their operations. This trend reflects an emerging consensus among businesses, governments, and civil society organizations. The findings of this study may inform consideration of Bill S-211 and implementation of the UNGPs.

Considerations

Relevance of the study

Key findings of the EC study

Creation of state oversight and enforcement bodies (EU and/or state level), either within or independent of state departments, with powers to issue enforcement measures like fines, appointing monitors, withdrawing licenses or trade concessions, or company dissolution, as well as criminal sanctions.

Conclusions

Relevance for Canada

Other Resources

References

  1. European Commission. (2020). Study on due diligence requirements through the supply chain.
  2. United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. (2014). If the guiding principles are not a legal instrument, are they just voluntary? In “Frequently asked questions about the guiding principles on business and human rights”.
  3. Government of Canada: Human rights treaties. (Updated 2019).
  4. Parliament of Canada, First Session, 43rd Parliament. (2020). Bill S-211: An Act to enact the Modern Slavery Act and to amend the Customs Tariff.
  5. Government of Canada: Justice Law Website. Extractive Sector Transparency Measures Act (S.C. 2014, c. 39, s. 376) Accessed on May 12, 2020
  6. Parliament of Canada. (2018). Bill C-423 An Act respecting the fight against certain forms of modern slavery through the imposition of certain measures and amending the Customs Tariff.
  7. Government of Canada - International trade and investment. (2019). Background: Gender-based analysis plus.
  8. Strandberg Consulting. (2019). Corporate social responsibility in Canada: trends, barriers and opportunities.
Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Engagement de l’Union européenne à mettre en place un système de diligence raisonnable juridiquement contraignant en matière de droits de l’homme et d’environnement pour les entreprises : conséquences pour le Canada – Document d’orientation

13 mai 2020

But

Une partie de l’approche de l’ombudsman canadien de la responsabilité des entreprises (OCRE) visant à promouvoir les Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme des Nations Unies (« les Principes directeurs ») consiste à informer régulièrement nos parties intéressées publiques, privées et multipartites de l’évolution mondiale de la mise en œuvre des Principes directeurs et de ses conséquences pour le Canada. Cette démarche comprend l’analyse des dimensions relatives au genre qui peuvent être intégrées à bon escient dans nos pratiques de diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de la personne, ce qui nous permet d’honorer notre engagement d’intégrer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) dans toutes les politiques gouvernementales.

Le présent document résume une étude de la Commission européenne (CE) sur les exigences en matière de diligence raisonnable tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement (1) et présente des points clés concernant la pertinence de ses conclusions pour le Canada.

Contexte

Le mandat en quatre parties de l’OCRE « promouvoir, conseiller, examiner et recommander » a été adopté dans le contexte de l’approbation par le Canada des Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme, qui constituent, entre autres, un plan directeur pour aider les États membres à remplir leurs obligations législatives concernant les traités internationaux ratifiés en matière de droits de la personne et de travail (2). Dans le cadre de référence « protéger, respecter et réparer » des Nations Unies, le Canada a pris les mesures suivantes pour la mise en œuvre :

Le 29 avril 2020, le commissaire européen à la Justice s’est engagé à présenter une loi sur les obligations de diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de l’homme et d’environnement pour les entreprises de l’UE dès le début de 2021. Cette déclaration a été faite au cours d’un webinaire organisé par le groupe de travail de l’UE sur la conduite responsable des entreprisesNote de bas de page 2 pour discuter des conclusions d’une étude exhaustive sur les exigences en matière de diligence raisonnable tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, réalisée pour la CE.

Cette étude met en évidence l’adoption et la mise en œuvre croissantes des Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme par les gouvernements, en particulier l’obligation législative pour les entreprises de veiller à ce que la diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de la personne soit intégrée à leurs activités. Cette tendance reflète un consensus naissant entre les entreprises, les gouvernements et les organisations de la société civile. Les conclusions de cette étude peuvent éclairer l’examen du projet de loi S-211 et la mise en œuvre des Principes directeurs.

Considérations

Pertinence de l’étude

Principales constatations de l’étude de la CE

Conclusions

Pertinence pour le Canada

Autres ressources

Références

  1. Commission européenne. (2020). Study on due diligence requirements through the supply chain. (en anglais)
  2. Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l’homme. (2014). Si les Principes directeurs ne sont pas un instrument juridique, ne sont-ils que facultatifs? Dans « Questions courantes sur les Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme ».
  3. Gouvernement du Canada : Traités sur les droits de la personne. (Mise à jour 2019).
  4. Parlement du Canada, première session, 43e législature. (2020). Projet de loi S-211 : Loi édictant la Loi sur l’esclavage moderne et modifiant le Tarif des douanes.
  5. Gouvernement du Canada : Site Web de la législation. Loi sur les mesures de transparence dans le secteur extractif(L.C. 2014, ch. 39, art. 376). Consulté le 12 mai 2020.
  6. Parlement du Canada. (2018). Projet de loi C-423 : Loi concernant la lutte contre certaines formes modernes d’esclavage par l’imposition de certaines mesures et modifiant le Tarif des douanes.
  7. Gouvernement du Canada – Commerce international et investissement. (2019). Aperçu : Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus.
  8. Strandberg Consulting. (2019). Corporate social responsibility in Canada: trends, barriers and opportunities. (en anglais)
Date de modification: